The Great Escape!

Via google images

Via google images

It began,

The day I walked the aisle

Holding the bouquet of flowers with a smile

To stand beside a gentle-man they said

Whom, I will never could dread

Attitudes?

red-hot fiery words in acid Tones,

tinged, jalapeno flavored, contours are not

designed for my humble-human-heart

he stands before me demanding in

colossal wrath

Feeling of apprehension stirs my heart

Deception piled around me by a tart

Ripples of doubt circle like cyclone

should I go or not is a decision

of my own

Snowstorm outside

I replicate my plot in mind

I patiently wait for the right time.

Lo and behold the blizzard strikes

Β the said night; he is at his work-site!

I pack my bags and flight I book

For my two children and I

This life of desolate and abuse I need

No more

By: Shashi Moore

About Shashi Moore

Having covered half a century of my time on this Earth; enthusiastically creating an impression on my students has given me the much needed excuse to continue to live another few decades, if possible. An educationist by choice and a mother by grace of God.
This entry was posted in Personal, poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Great Escape!

  1. That was … very powerful, I think. Running away in such a situation is the best thing a woman can do for her children and herself. You’re a strong lady, ma’am πŸ˜‰ I hope classes are going well, I’ve been lazy πŸ˜›

  2. z31axs31 says:

    This is brilliant. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Kozo says:

    Shashi,
    Thank you for sharing this painful experience. I admire your courage, honesty, and strength. You now that my goal is to prevent this type of experience from happening in our world. Feel free to guide me in any way you see fit. {{{Hugs}}} kozo

    • Shashi Moore says:

      I’m very much thrilled that you read my post. It happened 2 decades ago, in Alaska. I walked away because, I wanted my sons to break the cycle of D.V. I have witnessed the fruit of my actions. I have two lovely boys who have grown to appreciate and promote gender equity and equality of opportunity. Thank you for building the momentum for the worthy cause. Bravo! You are doing great and thanks for asking. God Bless! πŸ™‚

Thanks for coming by! Constructive criticism to stay in touch :)

