My Friend

(via google)

(via google)

My Friend

Half a century and a year short for a decade old

Ducks, fowls, cats and a dog, shares her abode

My friend, Tessa is not George Orwell, yet she holds

Comprehensible communications with her friends penned.

Her roosters are Reds, Oldboy, Percy and Joseph

Each take turns to play watchdog to protect

Donald the old drake, the major, who in control.

‘Donald!’ She says, ‘Round up all the birds into the pen’.

So said so done!

Donald leader like rounds the fowls into coop and pen

She is close to three hundred fifty pounds

Obese, with irregular heart sounds.

Bundles her troubles and sings to her animal friends in rounds

Her foster aunt asks her, ‘what have you achieved since adopted?’

She tells her aunt,

A son, a daughter-in-law and two adorable granddaughters’,

She adds,

‘love and respect from my farm friends all’.

I visit her on eve of her birthday with cake to celebrate

She hugs me and invites her cats, Peanut and Cashew to share

We slice the cake and wash it down with soda pop,

each has the crumbs we spare

while she instructs her Joseph to find Percy

for her to retire with her sentinel guards Reds and Oldboy

wishing her goodnight, I bade my friend goodbye

each of them thence to lair 

By: Shashi Moore

About Shashi Moore

Having covered half a century of my time on this Earth; enthusiastically creating an impression on my students has given me the much needed excuse to continue to live another few decades, if possible. An educationist by choice and a mother by grace of God.
This entry was posted in My Writing, Personal, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for coming by! Constructive criticism to stay in touch :)

