Today

Today

By: Olive Dunkelbarger

Today is here and mine to use

Tomorrow may not be;

And so the present I would choose

To task my energy

The opportunity I hold

Within my hand today

May prove to be the precious mould

To shape my future way

Today is still the only time

In which to do my work

And mighty triumphs, deeds sublime

May in its moments lurk.

But even though the lowly vale

Of common life is my way,

The only thing that will avail

Is duty done today?

~~

Dear friends, it must have been around 3.30 am (27th of March). I forced my eyes open. I felt the bed room spinning and I knew that I was experiencing vertigo, very unusual. I wasted no time, despite the fact that I was nauseating and unsteady on my feet, I quickly showered.

Very reluctantly I called out to my eldest son. I was hesitant to wake him up because he was to fly out to the Cayman Islands for his very first international Caribbean Powerlifting championship. Nevertheless, I did. One look at me and he knew that something was really wrong. I was rushed to the family doctor’s clinic.

I was on ECG, anti-coagulants and anti-hypertensive. Without delay I was also rushed to the public hospital for further X-ray and other lab investigations.

All along I was praying (Not alarmed), but asking God for two things.

I asked God not to make me an obstacle for my son or prevent me from fulfilling my commitment to the Ministry of Education. As a matter of fact, on that very day I had to conduct an important workshop for all the science teachers in my region; in preparation for the upcoming regional Science fair.

I was afraid of letting everyone down.

Despite the heart attack, I was able to conduct the workshop, approximately three hours later. That evening I bid my son good luck as he boarded his flight to Cayman’s.

God was very kind to me.

My prayers were answered.

So I had to take charge of my life and not let the kindness go unnoticed.

I changed my attitude and then my feelings and behaviors changed.

My diet and exercise followed. Initially, I could not have walked for 15 minutes without panting for more air. Now I jog for 30 minutes each morning. I have lost 27 lbs. Since and I am more agile in my early fifties.

Everyone around is happy to see me back on my feet, but also love the inches that I have lost.

Along with my Baha’i prayers and prayers from friends and family, I also found time for inspirational literature. “Today” by Olive Dunkelbarger, is one such poems that gives me the courage not to procastinate. By the way, My son returned with Gold medal and Had broken the previous records for the junior championship in the Caribbean.

Thank God!!

By: Shashi Moore

 

About Shashi Moore

Having covered half a century of my time on this Earth; enthusiastically creating an impression on my students has given me the much needed excuse to continue to live another few decades, if possible. An educationist by choice and a mother by grace of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today

  1. Mr. Carmen A. Chairez says:

    Dear Shashi Moore!
    Long ago, my second teacher Ms. Belknap had us memorize “Today.” As I became older, I remembered the first three lines as they became meaningful. Now, finally, thanks to you, I have the complete verses since 1954! Thank you for bringing this poem to the Internet for me to find!

Thanks for coming by! Constructive criticism to stay in touch :)

